To See or Not To See: Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros

The second installment in this series.

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros: All 217 of them

Well, 217 might be an exaggeration, but there are seriously about twenty people who comprise this band in some form or fashion.  Their first full album is Up From Below (2009) and everyone should have heard “Home” by now.  You are probably familiar with the hook from “Janglin” from a Ford Fiesta commercial.  I’ll preface my next sentence to say that I mean this in a good way.  I have to thank Wikipedia because I would have said an iPod/Pad/Phone commercial.  I really hate all those commercials, but they do have some catchy background music in them.

The whole time I listened to this album, I could not help but think that they would be opening up for The Mamas & The Popas in the ’60s.  I really have no clue why that band popped (pun intended) into my head, but they did and I will stick with that comparison.  Note: I always stick with my first thought unless someone gives me reason to change my mind.

Grade: B+ (88)

Upcoming shows in Nashville or festivals:

4/15-4/16 – Vanderbilt Rites of Spring Music Festival

Leave a Reply

